Chair and Deputy Chair Appointed to the Geospatial Commission - 19/12/2018

Sir Andrew Dilnot has been appointed Chair of the government’s Geospatial Commission by the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, the Rt Hon David Lidington CBE MP. Nigel Clifford has also been confirmed as Deputy Chair.

They will be responsible for the work of the Geospatial Commission, supported by £80 million of funding, to drive the use of this location-linked data more productively to unlock up to £11 billion of extra value for the economy every year.

The objectives of the Commission are to increase economic growth and improve social and environmental outcomes by:

  • Setting cross-cutting geospatial strategy, policy and data standards;
  • Promoting competition within markets for geospatial data, products and services;
  • Improving accessibility, interoperability and quality of data; and
  • Improving capability, skills and resources to support the growth of new and existing geospatial businesses and improve public services.


Andrew’s experience throughout his career has centred on the application of data to help understand and improve the UK economy, society and environment. His passion for public service will help drive forward the UK’s geospatial agenda.” said David Lidington, the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Minister for the Cabinet Office. “As Deputy Chair, Nigel Clifford will bring extensive technical knowledge and private sector experience. Together, Sir Andrew and Nigel bring the energy, enthusiasm and leadership required to unlock the massive potential of geospatial data and technology”.

Sir Andrew Dilnot said “The intelligent use of data presents a huge opportunity to enrich our society, strengthen our economy and tackle the issues of the future. The potential of new technology in the geospatial domain is huge, and questions about how best to facilitate use of the data are important and fascinating. Alongside Nigel, I look forward to addressing these questions through my new role as Chair of the Geospatial Commission.”

Both have taken up their respective roles for a term of 3 years.

Last updated: 21/10/2019